Onion Bombs

Now I need to be completely honest here. These are not my original idea. If you search online you will see loads of recipes for these things. But when I saw them I knew I had to try them. I did a couple of my own things like the cheese and sauce.
image

My plan is to make a sausage mixture with my own flavours, jam a piece of cheese in the middle, stick it in the onion, wrap it in foil, toss in a campfire and see what happens.

How could this suck?!

I start by making my sausage mix.
image

image

For this you are going to need the following:

– 1 lb. Ground Pork
– 1 Tablespoon each of fennel, thyme, rosemary, chili flakes
– 1 Tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce
– 1 Tablespoon Dijon Mustard
– 1 egg
– 1/4 bread crumbs
I also decided at the last minute to add a couple of tablespoons of BBQ sauce.
image

Mix this all up and set aside.

Peel an onion, cut in half from top to core and separate into shells.
image

Create a ball of sausage meat and jam a chunk of cheese in the middle, then finish the ball to seal the cheese in.
image

Put the meat and cheese ball inside of two halves of onion.
image

Wrap in heavy duty foil. I actually triple wrapped them.
image

Get a campfire going and place in a nice bed of coals. You want to flip them after 10 minutes and cook for another 10 minutes.
image

Pull them out and let sit for 5 minutes.
Open the foil and eat!
image

image

image

Enjoy!

MD

Leave a comment